The Counting House
Location: Co. Cork, Ireland
Architect: JCA Architects
The restoration and regeneration project, with the iconic Counting House building of the former Beamish and Crawford brewery as its centrepiece, includes a stunning glazed atrium over a double-height new reception area - separate to the traditional Counting House entrance — and five floors of office space rising up from behind the Counting House, which, when completed, will accommodate circa 700 staff. The comprehensive use of glazing throughout the office floors will ensure stunning new views over Cork city.
This carefully crafted regeneration project was made possible by the collaboration of some of the leading industry experts. With respect for the past and a vision for the future, The Counting House is a truly unique concept where working, cultural and retail space are perfectly aligned.
As a LEED certified building, The Counting House has been built to benefit both the people and the planet at every touchpoint. The integrity of the old building has been carefully preserved alongside the addition of new features that optimise resource usage and building efficiencies.
13.5mm Heat Strengthened, Laminate 51-28 – 20mm Toggle – 6mm Toughened, Heat Soak Tested
6mm Toughened – 16 – 6mm Toughened, Low E 1.0
6mm 51-28 Heat Strengthened - 16 – 6mm Heat Strengthened
Dating back to 1792, The Counting House has been at the heart of Cork’s medieval quarter for generations. Carefully conserved yet creatively reimagined, this iconic new development is a unique concept where working, cultural and retail space are perfectly aligned.
Mr O’Callaghan of conservation specialists JCA architects said the success of the Counting House and brewery buildings project “is that it brought along with it the historic fabric: walls, timber roof trusses, and vast iron columns and floors, now all incorporated in the new development”.